

PARLIAMENTARY MEETING ON THE OCCASION OF THE UNITED NATIONS CLIMATE CHANGE CONFERENCE

Lima (Peru), 8 December 2014



Organized jointly by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and the Congress of the Republic of Peru, with the support of the GRULAC

PROVISIONAL PROGRAMME

08:30 - 18:00	Registration of participants
10:00 - 10:30	 Opening session Ms. Ana María Solórzano Flores, President, Congress of the Republic of Peru Mr. Saber Chowdhury, President, Inter-Parliamentary Union Ms. Christiana Figueres, Executive Secretary, UNFCCC Secretariat Mr. Roberto León, President, Group of Latin America and the Caribbean, IPU
10:30 - 11:15	 Briefing session Towards a global climate change deal: Progress report on COP20/CMP10 negotiations Special Guest Mr. Manuel Pulgar-Vidal Otálora, Minister of Environment of Peru, President of COP20 and CMP10
11:15 - 13:00	 Interactive panel discussion Climate-induced inequalities: a new political challenge? Moderator Ms. Margarita R. Seminario, Chemonics International Panellists Senator Silvia Guadalupe Garza Galván (Mexico) Mr. Ekwee Ethuro, Speaker of the Senate (Kenya) Mr. Jo Leinen, Member of the European Parliament
13:00 - 14:30	Lunch
14:30 - 15:00	Special presentation The rising costs of inaction on climate change <u>Keynote speaker</u>

• Ms. Elena Manaenkova, World Meteorological Organization

15:00 - 17:30	Interactive panel discussion Low-carbon future: A case for concerted action by national
	legislators and local authorities
	<u>Keynote speaker</u>
	Ms. Alina Averchenkova, Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment
	Panellists
	 Mr. David Cadman, President, ICLEI-Local Governments for Sustainability
	 Mr. Michel Lebrun, President, Committee of the Regions, European Union
	Ms. Vandana Chavan, MP (India), GLOBE India
	• Mr. Michael Carrington, Speaker of the House of Assembly (Barbados), representative of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association
17:30 - 18:00	Closing session
	Adoption of the draft outcome document
	 Mr. Sergio Fernando Tejada Galindo, MP (Peru)
	* * *

18:00

Dinner reception will be offered by the hosts